Poor Mountain Records
No Number

This is a nice new release from this group from Spartanburg, N.C. Established in 2016, the band consists of Jason Belue (bass, vocals), Zachary Carter (banjo, vocals), Louis Hughes (mandolin, vocals), Katelyn Mabry Ingardia (guitar, vocals), and Travis Tucker (resonator guitar, vocals). This is their second project and features the excellent singing and songwriting of Ingardia. Eight of the thirteen selections are Ingardia’s and others are from band members Carter and Hughes.

Katelyn’s compositions include the title-cut, along with “Your Love,” “Powder Dry,” “Lawman,” “Lullaby,” and “Me And My Man.” Hughes gives us “Fire Inside Of Me,” and Carter wrote the instrumental “Shadow Drift.” The highlight of this project is Katelyn’s lead vocals, which is featured throughout and backed by the band’s harmony vocals and excellent arrangements. Each member gets their share of the songs, which gives the project a nice flow and feel. One interesting tune is their take on Bryan Adams’ “Straight From The Heart.” This group has produced a very nice project which gives us new songs, new sounds, and a new band to watch as they grow. (

Share this Article