Coyote Ugly

The SPGMA award-winning band Coyote Ugly has released its debut album, Ponderosa.  The band may be new, but they bring years of bluegrass experience with some of the genre’s top groups.

Banjoist Joey Cox held down five-string duties for Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, Blueridge, Kenny & Amanda Smith, Lou Reid & Carolina and The Jeff Parker Band.  Mandolin player Vince Bullins spent time with Junior Sisk & Rambler’s Choice and other groups; fiddle player Crystal Shipley worked the bow for the Dixie Bee-Liners and is a former Galax champ; and bass player Mitch Bentley worked with several bands, including Tommy Webb. Vocals are harmonized by Beverly and Tom Horton.

There’s clean picking and vocals throughout and “Say Won’t You Be Mine” and the instrumental title track “Ponderosa” are among the best. They offer a good turn on the classic, “Pathway of Teardrops.” “On the Sea of Life” is a strong gospel effort.  The band bills itself as a mix of bluegrass, gospel and contemporary and offers all of it on this CD.

Share this Article