No Label
No Number

Along Rt. 1107 in mid-Kentucky lies the small town of Thelma. From that small town hails the Land of Lincoln bluegrass band, a well-rehearsed and hard-driving group consisting of Brad Powers (banjo), Ben Childers (guitar), Bruce Davis (mandolin), Mike Jarrell (guitar), and Michael Powers (bass). With Jarrell’s strong songwriting, impressive instrumentation, good lead vocals, and tight harmony blends, the group has produced an impressive debut project sure to have folks sit up and take a listen to this new group.

   Leading off with a mandolin instrumental called “Prelude,” the CD continues will Jarrell’s compositions including “Blue Debut,” “He Laid Him Down,” “Too Cold To Hold,” “Black Snake Whip,” and “Leavin’ New Orleans.” Also included are their takes on Flatt & Scruggs’ “You’re Love Is Like A Flower” and Bill Monroe’s “Used To Be.” “Blown Fuse” is a Jarrell instrumental that let’s everyone take a nice ride. Land of Lincoln is a fresh new face in bluegrass music with a bright future. (Land of Lincoln, P.O. Box 382, Thelma, KY 41260,

Share this Article