No Label
No Number

Marty Kutz has put together a solid, pleasant collection of 12 mostly standard tunes, including a strong gospel component (four cuts) and two original instrumentals. Kutz plays resonator guitar throughout and is ably assisted by Josh Williams (guitar, mandolin), Mike Scott (banjo), Becky Buller, Lizzy Long and Meredith Goins (fiddles on three cuts each), Rebekah Long (upright bass) and Doug Smith (guitar on one cut).

Vocally this ensemble is solid, with Kutz handling the lead duties on all but two cuts, and Kevin Harper and Jamey Alwell filling in the baritone and tenor parts. Kutz sings as he plays, with conviction and authority. Doug Smith and Josh Williams turn in very convincing lead vocals on “Cora Is Gone,” and “So Happy I’ll Be,” respectively. Among the highlights are the opening cut, “Welcome Aboard,” from Tom T. and Dixie Hall, a very slow and stately version of “Cora Is Gone” which showcases the reso-guitar, Doug Smith’s lead vocals and Jenny Williams’ fine high baritone, an uptempo “The Likes Of You,” a nice four-part harmony version of “So Happy I’ll Be,” and Kutz’s excellent version of “Lorena,” done instrumentally with some very good mandolin work by Josh Williams.

This is a nice document of Marty Kutz’s work, with a good variety of tunes, solid vocal work, and very good performances instrumentally by both Kutz and the supporting cast. (Marty Kutz, 318 Raymond Dr., Monroe, LA 71203, [email protected].)AW

Share this Article