No Label
No Number

North Country, one of the best-known bluegrass bands from the Northwest, has released a second project after some changes to the band’s lineup. Lonely Tonightfeatures a mix of originals mostly penned by bandmembers, as well as a couple of tunes from well-known performers to give a mix of traditional and progressive bluegrass sounds.

“Rain In Durango,” previously from Shawn Camp, Guy Clark, and Ray Stevenson, as well as a song best-known from IIIrd Tyme Out, “Hard Rock Mountain Prison,” are standouts. James Taylor’s “Riding On A Railroad” is a nice take, and the hardest driving cut on the CD is “Crazy Train,” which some may recall from Ronnie Bowman.

North Country consists of Zach Top on vocals, mandolin, and guitar; Norm Olsen on vocals and guitar; Will McSeveney on banjo; Kent Powell on vocals and guitar; and Michael Kilby on fiddle and resonator guitar. Top has several writing credits on the album, including the title song, as doesMcSeveney. (

Share this Article